HPSG 2013

HPSG 2013: Call for Papers

The 20th edition of the HPSG conference will take place in August 2013 at the Freie Universität in Berlin.

Abstracts are solicited for presentations that address linguistic, foundational, or computational issues relating to the framework of Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar. The deadline for submission is March 1, 2013.

The conference (August 28–29) will consist of a main session of 30-minute presentations and a poster session. HPSG 2013 will also include two collocated events: August 26: Tutorial Linguistic research with large annotated web corpora (Felix Bildhauer and Roland Schäfer, Freie Universität Berlin) August 27: Workshop TBA


We will use the online submission system EasyChair. All abstracts should be submitted via http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=hpsg2013

Abstracts must be in PDF format and should be 5 pages long (including examples and references) for oral presentations and 2 pages long for posters. Abstracts submitted initially for the main session may, at the discretion of the program committee, be accepted for presentation in the poster session instead.

All abstracts will be reviewed anonymously by at least two reviewers. Abstracts should not include the authors' names and authors are asked to avoid self-references.

Please direct any questions to the Program Committee Chair: hpsg2013@easychair.org

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: March 8, 2013
  • Notification of acceptance: April 15, 2013
  • Conference: August 28-29, 2013
  • (Tutorial and workshop: August 26–27, 2013)


The conference proceedings will be published online by CSLI Publications. A call for contributions to the publications will be issued after the conference; the deadline for submissions will be October 15, 2013. Proceedings of previous conferences are available at http://csli-publications.stanford.edu/HPSG/.

Submission Web Site


Program Committee

Chair: Jesse Tseng

  • Emily M. Bender (University of Washington)
  • Olivier Bonami (Universite Paris-Sorbonne)
  • Bob Borsley (University of Essex)
  • Rui Chaves (University at Buffalo, SUNY)
  • Berthold Crysmann (CNRS – LLF (UMR 7110) – Paris-Diderot)
  • Kordula De Kuthy (Universität Tübingen)
  • Elisabet Engdahl (Department of Swedish, University of Gothenburg)
  • Daniel Flickinger (Stanford University)
  • Jong-Bok Kim (Kyung Hee University)
  • Jean-Pierre Koenig (University at Buffalo, The State University of New York)
  • Valia Kordoni (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin)
  • Anna Kupsc (Universite de Bordeaux)
  • Robert Levine (Ohio State University Department of Linguistics)
  • Nurit Melnik (The Open University of Israel)
  • Stefan Müller (Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Tsuneko Nakazawa (University of Tokyo)
  • Gerald Penn (University of Toronto)
  • Adam Przepiórkowski (Institute of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Frank Richter (Seminar für Sprachwissenschaft, Universität Tübingen)
  • Louisa Sadler (University of Essex)
  • Ivan Sag (Stanford University)
  • Manfred Sailer (Goethe-University Frankfurt a.M.)
  • Frank Van Eynde (University of Leuven)
  • Gert Webelhuth (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main)
  • Stephen Wechsler (UT Austin)
  • Shuichi Yatabe (University of Tokyo)
  • Eun-Jung Yoo (Seoul National University)

Invited Speakers