HPSG 2008
The 15th International Conference on
Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar

28 - 30 July, 2008
Keihanna, Japan

The 15th International Conference on Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar will take place in July, 2008 near the historic cities of Nara and Kyoto in Japan.

Invited Speakers

Call for Papers

Abstracts are solicited for presentations which address linguistic, foundational, or computational issues relating to the framework of Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar. Each presentation will be allotted 40 minutes, but the talk itself must be at most 30 minutes long, leaving at least 10 minutes for discussion. The last day of the conference will be devoted to a workshop on "Grammar at the Interfaces", whose purpose is to explore not just various problems regarding grammar-internal interfaces (such as the syntax-semantics interface and the morphology-syntax interface) but also issues surrounding the interface between competence grammar and extragrammatical factors.


We will use an online submission system. All abstracts should be submitted via http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=hpsg2008. Abstracts should be in PDF format and should not be more than 5 (five) pages long.

Please direct any questions to the Program Committee Chair:

Abstracts for the main conference should mention 'HPSG-08' and abstracts for the workshop should mention 'Workshop-08' in the title. All abstracts will be reviewed anonymously by at least two reviewers. Abstracts should not include the authors' names and authors are asked to avoid self-references. The Program Committee reserves the right to reassign accepted papers from the main conference to the workshop, and vice versa.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline:   March 1, 2008
Notification of acceptance:     April 15, 2008
Conference:                     July 28-30, 2008


The conference proceedings will be published online by CSLI publications. A call for contributions to the publications will be issued after the conference. Proceedings of previous conferences are available at http://csli-publications.stanford.edu/HPSG/. The final deadline for receipt of written versions of conference papers is October 25, 2008.

Program Committee

Anne Abeillé, Olivier Bonami, Bob Borsley, Gosse Bouma, Rui Chaves, Berthold Crysmann, Markus Egg, Elisabet Engdahl, Daniel Flickinger, Jonathan Ginzburg, Danièle Godard, Chikara Hashimoto, Erhard Hinrichs, Anke Holler, Chiharu Uda Kikuta, Jong-Bok Kim, Tibor Kiss, Anna Kupsc, Shalom Lappin, Robert Levine, Rob Malouf, Nurit Melnik, Detmar Meurers, Stefan Müller, Tsuneko Nakazawa, Gerald Penn, Adam Przepiórkowski, Frank Richter, Louisa Sadler, Ivan Sag, Manfred Sailer, Jesse Tseng, Stephen Wechsler, Shuichi Yatabe (chair), and Kei Yoshimoto.

Submission Web Site


Supported by the National Institute of Information and Communications Technology.